Pets

Nov 28 2017

Purina Care – Pet Insurance reviews and information #local #puppy #adoptions


10/10 Quick & Easy Claims, 10/25/2013

Reviewed By: Lisa, Recommend: Y

My rescue dog started getting sick, and after multiple vet visits they determined she had rocky mountain spotted fever. After all her treatments, I brought my claim form to my vet, they filled it out & sent it in. Within 2 weeks I had received reimbursement from Trupanion for my over deductible out of pocket costs. I was very pleased with the speed and service! Better than my health insurance.

Injury/Illness: Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever Breed: Mixed Breed dog

Claim Amount: over $1000 Age of Pet: 1 – 8

Was this review helpful to you?

9/10 Excellent company, 3/23/2013

Reviewed By: Cw, Recommend: Y

We originally had signed up for the purina care- preventative plan, when our dog was 9 months old. After 3 years we decided to reduce the policy to the basic plan. At 4 years old our dog needed emergency dental work. She had many retained baby teeth (that could not be removed when she was spayed- because most of her adult teeth had not erupted). The company could have claimed that they wouldn’t pay for it- because deciduous teeth usually are not covered but under the circumstances they covered her. Her emergency bill was 120, the surgery was 2,500. They covered 1411.36 which is more than 1/2! They would have covered more had we kept the preventative plan (they didn’t cover the dental cleaning portion). Overall we were very happy that her surgery was covered. Purina care paid for itself!

Injury/Illness: Dental Breed: Chihuahua

Claim Amount: over $1000 Age of Pet: 1 – 8

Was this review helpful to you?

5/10 Beware, 3/8/2013

Reviewed By: Victoria Jablonski, Recommend: N

As with most insurance companies, they will do ANYTHING to not pay a claim. We’ve spent thousands in premiums and deductibles over the years. and have seen little return in comparison (part of the insurance gamble, I know). Every claim requires extensive paperwork, calls back and forth between the insurance company and vet, it’s exhausting. Ultimately, if they don’t want to pay your claim, they’ll find a reason not to (regardless of what the vet says). I am a strong proponent of pet insurance. If you can afford it, at least get a policy that covers illness and accidents. But I would not recommend this company specifically. Their customer service is less than polite. When they do pay claims however, it is a quick turnaround.

Injury/Illness: skin problem gastritis/vomiting enteritis/diarrhea Breed: Mixed Breed dog

Claim Amount: over $1000 Age of Pet: 1 – 8

Was this review helpful to you?

10/10 Recommend this Company, 1/24/2013

Reviewed By: Karen Valerio, Recommend: Y

I purchased this insurance for my 10 year old dog, and later that same month, he was diagnosed with terminal cancer. PurinaCare covered his surgery, chemo and ultimate euthanasia. I received the checks promptly and had no issues with it. I have coverage on my other dogs as well. No issues with them, thank goodness, but I’m glad I have insurance as a back up against big expenses like Roscoe had. It saved me thousands of dollars.

Injury/Illness: cancer Breed: Mixed Breed dog

Claim Amount: over $1000 Age of Pet: over 8 years

Was this review helpful to you?

1/10 Conveniently did not start my application , 1/8/2013

Reviewed By: Kumar, Recommend: N

I got a confirmation email on Dec 2, 2012 and now I am ready to submit a claim for the preventive care and they conveniently tell me my application was never received!

Injury/Illness: preventive Breed: Great Dane

Claim Amount: $100 – $500 Age of Pet: under a year

Most Helpful Reviews

10/10 Quick & Easy Claims,
My rescue dog started getting sick, and after multiple vet visits they determined she had rocky mountain spotted fever. After all her treatments, I brought my claim form to my vet, they filled it out & sent it in. Within 2 weeks I had received reimbursement from Trupanion for my over deductible out of pocket costs. I was very pleased with the speed and service! Better than my health insurance. read more

Reviewed By: Lisa, parent of a Mixed Breed

9/10 Excellent company,
We originally had signed up for the purina care- preventative plan, when our dog was 9 months old. After 3 years we decided to reduce the policy to the basic plan. At 4 years old our dog needed emergency dental work. She had many retained baby teeth (that could not be removed when she was spayed- because most of her adult teeth had not erupted). The company could have claimed that they wouldn’t pay for it- read more

Reviewed By: Cw, parent of a Chihuahua

5/10 Beware,
As with most insurance companies, they will do ANYTHING to not pay a claim. We’ve spent thousands in premiums and deductibles over the years. and have seen little return in comparison (part of the insurance gamble, I know). Every claim requires extensive paperwork, calls back and forth between the insurance company and vet, it’s exhausting. Ultimately, if they don’t want to pay your claim, they’ll find read more

Reviewed By: Victoria Jablonski, parent of a Mixed BreedMixed Breed

10/10 Recommend this Company,
I purchased this insurance for my 10 year old dog, and later that same month, he was diagnosed with terminal cancer. PurinaCare covered his surgery, chemo and ultimate euthanasia. I received the checks promptly and had no issues with it. I have coverage on my other dogs as well. No issues with them, thank goodness, but I’m glad I have insurance as a back up against big expenses like Roscoe had. It read more

Reviewed By: Karen Valerio, parent of a Mixed Breed

1/10 Conveniently did not start my application ,
I got a confirmation email on Dec 2, 2012 and now I am ready to submit a claim for the preventive care and they conveniently tell me my application was never received! read more

Reviewed By: Kumar, parent of a Great Dane


Written by admin


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *